- Gluten Protein;
Yep, all oats have their own special gluten protein (Avenin in oats Vs Gliadin in wheat).
The gluten protein in oats estimated to be ~12-16% Vs ~69%+ in wheat.
Australian Food Standards prohibit labeling oats 'gluten free', but in other countries (such as the US and UK), the same oats can be labelled ‘gluten free’.
- Segregation of the oats;
Our oats are grown on our farm which does also grow wheat - so although the crops are segregated, there is a chance of some wheat growing in an oat paddock.
The test samples taken when processing our first batch of Dad’s Oats (our best 5% of oats harvested), showed no wheat, but it doesn’t completely rule out the existence of wheat in the batch.
The equipment used at the plant processing Dad’s Oats is exclusive for oats. Furthermore, the oats are 'screened/cleaned' to clear contaminants. However we can never claim 100% guarantee free from wheat contaminants.
- Gluten Intolerance;
In a more practical sense, a lot of people that have a gluten intolerance can still eat oats, and use oats as an alternative/replacement to wheat based products. It is a case by case basis for each individual - as always inform yourself, and consult your doctor.
There is some great information for coeliacs on Coeliac Australia’s website here.